Nail Grinder – Ogdy

So it’s been while since I’ve posted anything one here, but I’ve been working on a few different projects and blogs lately, and haven’t had much of any finished projects I felt worthy of posting on here until recently.

I’d like to introduce my newest project Nail Grinder. The idea behind this project is to explore the more metal elements of my song writing. Basically I’ve come to realize that my death metal growl is by far better than my singing voice, so I’m trying to develop my extreme metal song writing skills to better suit my screams and growls. The name of the project comes from me grinding the top of my finger nail off at work a couple of weeks ago. I spent four or five days researching band name ideas, and every cool sounding metal name I could come up with seemed to be taken by some obscure black metal band. Nail Grinder was the first idea I came up with, that wasn’t taken by anyone, so I decided to go with that. I also chose this name because then it wouldn’t necessarily pigeonhole me into any particular sub genre of metal, allowing me to explore black metal, death metal, thrash metal, grindcore, stoner metal, or what ever comes to mind while I’m trying different ideas out.

This first song ‘Ogdy’ was is me trying the whole black metal thing out, though the end result doesn’t really sound much like black metal to me, but that was the starting point of the song. The lyrics are adaption of a Evenki chant, inspired by the Tunguska event of 1908. If you are not familiar with the Tunguska event, go check it out, it’s rather fascinating.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tunguska_event

Anyway I have a number of songs already written for this project, and will hopefully be able to record and release them over the next few weeks.

Until then, enjoy.

About Dc3 Pratt Productions

My name is Dave and I play at being in the music business. I'm a stagehand, backline tech, musician, songwriter, producer, engineer, videographer, photographer, journalist and graphic artist. In other words, I have a low-level industry job, a few consumer based production programs, a smart phone, a decent computer, and a few other accessories for creating music and video projects and have a basic grasp of how to use all them. I mainly write music reviews of my own record and CD collection, but I occasionally produce some music with horrible videos to go along with them that I post to YouTube, that next to no one watches beside a handful of close friends and family. I've created this sort make-believe record company as a forum to house all of my artistic creations. Mainly so I can direct my friends and family to a single place to check out my stuff if they want. I have no skills or talent in any of these creative endeavors I dabble in but continue to do them anyway. Hopefully, someone will find a use for them, but I donโ€™t plan on stopping anytime soon.
This entry was posted in music, video, writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Nail Grinder – Ogdy

  1. jamilajj says:

    Hi Dave,
    I missed reading your posts ๐Ÿ™‚ I really, really like Ogdy. I commend thee on your Black/Death metal growls – they are excellent! I can’t sing AT ALL let alone growl like that. I will have to work on both of them, haha. There was a recurring layer in the song that sounded like it could be in a stressful movie scene? Oh, BTW is it okay if I post a link to the video on my blog? Anyway, I love Ogdy, very cool song.
    Jamila

    • Thank you! I switched jobs a couple fo months ago, and I haven’t had nearly as much time to write that much anymore, but I’m hoping in a couple of months that will change.

      And by all means, post and reshare ‘Ogdy’ as much as you want. the more people that see the better.

      Thanx

      • jamilajj says:

        Good to see you back! Thank you, I will add a link to “Ogdy” in my next post, I wish I could make music like that. I hope I can someday!

        Looking forward to reading more posts, when you have the time to write them ๐Ÿ™‚

        Good night (Well… it’s night in England) Good day?

Leave a Reply

